MORNING AT THE MARINE LAKE, SOUTHPORT – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

MORNING AT THE MARINE LAKE, SOUTHPORT - WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

Back to boats and watercolour. I had a number of images of the Marine Lake in Southport, where I live, but had never worked out a way to tackle the subjects. The Lake on its own is pretty boring and I was wondering how best to tackle the boats. I love their shapes and when they are pulled up close like this they create interesting patterns. This, as well as the light bouncing off the covers makes it a great subject to tackle.
Then I thought that I could pull in part of the lake and this is the result. I did consider putting some figures into the scene, but decided against it. Maybe I could try again, but with more emphasis on the boats.
More pictures on my website:grahammcquadefineart.com

Leave a Reply

