CAREY WITH DRAPE – PASTEL PAINTING

P1070361(1)

I went back to an old life drawing group and because you never know what time you have for a pose I took my pastels because I can get something quickly down with  colour. Fortunately the group decided to have a two hour pose, so I was able to work on a decent size and this means you can get some small details down which can give the painting  a bit more punch. The model was up on a plinth and I took a low position to exaggerate the foreshortening. I was quite happy with the outcome, although it was a shame I didn’t get her feet in, despite measuring out the painting before I started. Maybe next time.

Leave a Reply

