ESTUARY – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

P1070613(1)

I was reading about a painter who was using raw pigment with watercolour. I thought that I would have a go and scraped some of my soft pastels ( which is mainly pigment with some binder) over the wet sand area and then sprayed it loosely with water to add some texture. It has given some nice effects but the pigment hasn’t bound very well as I was unwilling to press it in because I would lose the texture.. I might experiment by adding some gum arabic to the spray. As I live by the shifting sands of the Mersey Estuary it would be great to capture some of the effects you see in the sands and this technique might open up some possibilities.

Other paintings can be found on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com 

One thought on “ESTUARY – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

Leave a Reply

