TONAL LIFE PAINTINGS IN VARIOUS MEDIAS – INK & WASH, CHARCOAL, PASTEL, WATERCOLOUR

h P1070748(1)

P1070750(1) P1070751(1) 9P1070821(1)

P1070822(1)

I had a number of sketches in my book done as tonal work in various media. The first one is ink and wash. I use Quink ink which is permanent. As soon as its down it stays, so you need to think about mark making before you proceed. The next one is watercolour, with a drawing in pencil. I have loads of Paynes Gray which I now never use. So I thought this would be a suitable outlet. It doesn’t have the power of the ink, but you can correct and manipulate it more.

The third is charcoal which is a media I have never got to grips with despite many tries. The fourth is pastel on a slightly toned paper. The pastel allows me to use both back and white and I find the depth of tone you can achieve very exciting.

The final painting is back to the paynes grey watercolour.

All were done in under an hour in the life sessions I go to.

Other life work can ne found on the gallery page of my website grahammcquadefineart.com

2 thoughts on “TONAL LIFE PAINTINGS IN VARIOUS MEDIAS – INK & WASH, CHARCOAL, PASTEL, WATERCOLOUR

Leave a Reply

