SEATED MODEL – PASTEL PAINTING

P1080064(1)

When I got home from doing this piece I realised I had done something similar before with the same model. I entitled this previous work Green Man which I posted on 18th April last year. In that painting greens and blues predominated. In this painting I was dictated by the hue of the paper  and based  my colours on siennas.

The model, by taking this pose puts many of his back and arm muscles into tension and he does need to rest during the sitting. It is challenging  for me to capture this tension.

I am also not sure about the yellow areas in front of the model. I did these at the beginning, along with some of the purples, before I started the basic drawing. These hues also permeate the figure and attempt to unite the subject with the background. However upon reflection they appear a little random and distracting.

Other figurative work is available on my website grahammcquadefineart.com

Leave a Reply

