A CHRISTMAS MORNING WALK – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

P1080078(1)

Christmas day dawned into a bright cloudless day, where we were, begging us out into the London parklands. I was struck by the blue grey of the woodland that played against the acidic yellows. There are flecks of reflected sunlight on the dew-damp branches. I started out by putting masking fluid down on the second and third washes, but when I completed the woodland and rubbed of the masking fluid it looked overly crude and required a lot of fiddling about to get it back into shape. I tried again and when I completed the tree areas I scratched out highlights with a scalpel. The effect was much more delicate and looked better with its hit and miss judderings. I used a lot of masking fluid  in other areas of this painting but it does have its limitations.

Other paintings are on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

2 thoughts on “A CHRISTMAS MORNING WALK – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

Leave a Reply

