AFTERNOON IN ISLINGTON – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

P1080253(1)

Another view of Upper Street from the other Saturday. I struggled with this when setting up the background buildings. I wanted to get some details in such as windows and varying the tones of the stonework that can be seen in the centre section and then I washed in some shape on either side with different hues of blues and purples. When I got the foreground actors in I realised that the areas where I did the least work, ie the sides, came out the best and the middle is a little forced. Still I love the different architectural shapes and the busses really set the thing off.

More watercolours and other media can be found on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

2 thoughts on “AFTERNOON IN ISLINGTON – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

  1. Thanks, I’m pleased you like it – despite the homesickness. It was a sparkling January afternoon giving me the low light I love. There is another on the same street posted on 4th Feb.

    Like

Leave a Reply

