MORNING, WATERHEAD, WINDERMERE – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

P1080532(1)

I have done a similar painting in the past of the boats gathered at the north end of Windermere in the English Lake District. The morning sun catches the surfaces of the boats. By darkening the water, highlights on the vessels are possible. I hadn’t tried this before. All the water surface has been darkened, though it doesn’t look like it. I reserved the lights for some of the vessels and the edge of the swan.

I once painted this scene on a winter’s morning, but gave up when the water on my palette froze. I should have tried the old trick of using alcohol, but decided for a photo instead and went inside for breakfast.

Other Lake District paintings are on my website grahammcquade.com . The other painting can be seen in the Sold section.

2 thoughts on “MORNING, WATERHEAD, WINDERMERE – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

Leave a Reply

