THE DEPTHS OF THE FOREST – PASTEL PAINTING

P1090822(1)

I was playing around with some small pieces of pastel paper I found in an old sketchbook, just exploring some possible subjects. On one sheet I wanted to create a stained glass effect, using the trunks and branches of trees as the lead support. As I worked the image seemed a little stilted with the dark interstices so I started to overpaint some of the branches and trunks with the blues yellows and greens and with some blending it gave a pleasing effect. Once I fixed the painting I could then overlay further colour and built up the image, creating texture with the top layers.

I was pleasantly surprised with the result; the image has an undersea feel, which might open up some other images. I might try a bigger version and then work out from there. For the moment here’s the first version.

Other pastels are on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

4 thoughts on “THE DEPTHS OF THE FOREST – PASTEL PAINTING

Leave a Reply

