MODEL BY PALETTE KNIFE – ACRYLIC PAINTING

P1100171(1)

I started this session with a palette knife but later resorted to brushes. It was a bit of a hybrid of approaches working also on a toned background which is actually bluer than I see before me. The model was new to the group and was very good, but unfortunately the pose and lighting was as usual uninspiring. I was quite pleased with the energy of some of the painting but other areas are a bit clumpy. The trouble is I rarely go in with a clear strategy as generally you can never be sure who it will be, male or female, or what the pose will be. Still its good practice and they say practice …

Other figurative work is available on my website grahammcquadefineart.com

One thought on “MODEL BY PALETTE KNIFE – ACRYLIC PAINTING

  1. I love the energy in this. Never had the opportunity to do any life drawing, etc., so I’m always fascinated to see how alive the result can be, in the right hands. This is super!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

