I THOUGHT THAT IT WAS A GOOD IDEA … WATERCOLOUR PAINTINGS

P1100210(1) P1100204(1)

A couple of watercolours I did recently which I had high hopes for, but they fell a bit flat by the time I had finished. Both were contra-jour. The horses in the evening sun seemed to come out rather flat. The actual horses in the photo were in coats so I  took some images of horses from other photos and arranged them in the field  but perhaps I had  the  tones a bit wrong – being wary of overdarkening the horses. I felt the finished painting lacked a bit of punch.

The view from the canal seemed to finish up with a mass of reedbeds and rather little else going on.

Anyway – I tried. On with the next painting.

Better fare is to be found on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

5 thoughts on “I THOUGHT THAT IT WAS A GOOD IDEA … WATERCOLOUR PAINTINGS

Leave a Reply

