AND WINTER STARTS ITS GRIP – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

P1100226(1)

I was experimenting with a series of abstracts inspired  by the changing of seasons. One of the forms I was considering was colour and I saw the birch which overhangs my garden and played around with backgrounds and colour combinations which I might use on the abstracts but this time I employed them in a representational image.

We haven’t yet got snow but the white in the image seemed to lift the image. It could be snow or light coming through the leaves. I tried to blur the background to infer form but not describe it. I will work further on this.

Other abstracts and representational work can be found on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

7 thoughts on “AND WINTER STARTS ITS GRIP – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

  1. Oh, lovely combination of colors! Yes, the way you’ve used the white is intriguing — could be light or snow. The leaves wonderfully are delicate. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: An illustrated Haiku (Haiga) – Drawn with Coloured Pencils in “Art Set Pro” app | Janette Leeds ArtandWords

Leave a Reply

