A MOMENT TO PAUSE ON LORD STREET- WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

P1100377(1)

I did a painting of Lord Street in Southport, where I live, and posted it a week ago. This view, above,  is on the other side of the street, but about six months later, although at the same time of day. In winter the sun comes low over the south end of the street in the afternoon  and, on sunny days, bathes the buildings in a golden light.

I started a version of this at the weekend and as I was painting I picked up a tissue on the side of my hand and transferred it to the painting. On the underside of the tissue was a plug of winsor blue and I printed a couple of blobs on the painting. There are five colours used in the painting and winsor blue wasn’t one of them and as it is a staining colour I couldn’t get it out or disguise it enough. So I did the pastel of Windermere whilst I stretched a sheet of paper.

So this is a version  without winsor blue.

Other paintings of Lord Street and Southport are available for sale on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

3 thoughts on “A MOMENT TO PAUSE ON LORD STREET- WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

Leave a Reply

