SOUTHPORT DUNES -WATERCOLOUR SKETCHES

P1140530(1)

We’ve had a few good days around these parts lately so I got on the bike on a couple of evenings and headed off towards the sea with my watercolours. There’s a big dune system here which is initially populated by marram grass and then by firs and birch trees. I did the above sitting on top of a remote dune looking into the sun towards the sea. I was pleased with the contrasts which I increased by a bit of scratching out when I got home.

P1140529(1)

This second one I did last week of a Birch grove alongside Royal Birkdale Golf Club. This didn’t have the contrasts of the first one, though with a bit of better planning it could have done. Unfortunately I wasn’t so out of the way doing this one and got disturbed by dog walkers and, more problematically, their dogs. Still it was a lovely evening when I got some peace and quiet.

Paintings of Southport and the locale can be found on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

4 thoughts on “SOUTHPORT DUNES -WATERCOLOUR SKETCHES

Leave a Reply

