EVENING PERFORMANCE AT THE ATKINSON, SOUTHPORT – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

P1140945(1)

I have sat outside and painted this building in the centre of Southport on at least two occasions and recently I spotted this angle which has the imposing clock tower dominating the scene. Then one night we went to see a performance and the evening sunlight lit up the sandstone façade and I quickly took some photos. So this painting is a combination of a number of photos taken on different days with very different lighting conditions. It made the drawing mighty complicated and where I had problems and uncertainties I covered them in people. All I was after was the tower in shade against the glow of the sunlit façade. Also the top half was from really dark photos, but I couldn’t put anyone up there to cover uncertainties so I winged it with the lights and shades.

With all these problems I wished half way through I hadn’t started it, but it pulled through in the end. Perhaps I should have got on my bike and taken a few more reference shots but when you’re in the thick of it you think you can make do.

Other paintings of Southport are available for sale on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

3 thoughts on “EVENING PERFORMANCE AT THE ATKINSON, SOUTHPORT – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

  1. I love it; I think you’ve done a brilliant job with it. I’d have never guessed you had doubts, misgivings, or anything else but mad talent and a flair for the medium. Thanks for sharing, Graham. (By the way, I actually sold one of my paintings that you gave such wonderful feedback about. My first sale – it was the “World Turning” painting from early this month. I want to thank you for your time, analysis and encouragement; it means a lot.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

