FLOWER SKETCHES – WATERCOLOUR PAINTINGS

p10203001a

Meagre pickings today. I had to do another watercolour flower demo and thought that some roses might be worth trying. I had seen these climbing roses in France the other week and had a notion to try them. I really wanted to get some loose forms coming down the frame ending with perhaps one which was more defined, but was aware that following the demo I will be running a workshop next week when the class have a try, so I needed to approach it more formally and methodically. Well here it is, but in doing it, I also realised that it might be too much for the less experienced – I certainly had a tussle with it.

So back to the drawing board. Instead I went for the old fallback, the hellebores. Well, in the end all I want is to build confidence in loose washes and mixing on the paper. So here was what I did this morning as the demoo piece. It will be interesting to see what the class produce next week.

p10203011a

Other floral paintings for sale  are available on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “FLOWER SKETCHES – WATERCOLOUR PAINTINGS

Leave a Reply

