TIPPING POINT – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

P1020413(1)I was going to do this as a mixed media piece with pastels, similar to an earlier one of waves I did, but as I started painting I wondered whether it could be all done in watercolour, so this is the result. Using pastels allows a more gestural approach with the mark making which I suppose is more reflective of the restlessness of the sea, so I am wondering if this is a little static. I’ll ponder a little further.

Other seascapes and landscapes are available for sale on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

4 thoughts on “TIPPING POINT – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

  1. Nice one Graham – the seagull is a perfect touch giving delicate life to the otherwise strong pull from the incoming wave. I don’t think it’s static, the elements are beautifully portrayed here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

