FISHERMAN’S PATH 3 – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

P1020414(1)Being a sort of  obsessive I do paintings over and over again. This is the latest version of this path which connects the north end of Formby with the sea via the pinewoods and skirting one of the many golf courses here. I am beginning to feel a bit satisfied with the outcome. I initially went in with warm red, blue and yellow and mixed the colours all over the paper, spraying and mixing the quite strong colours. Then, when dry I rewet some of the paper with spray and mixed in the foliage, extending the trunks at the same time. I am pleased with the effect of the light even though I have painted over the whole paper. On a previous edition I deliberately left the area of the sun white, yet it doesn’t have the same impact of lightness – see below.

Also the trees on the right now have more vitality and their warmness complements the colder colours on the left. I feel there is a greater sense of mystery in the new painting.

P1020415(1)a

Other landscape paintings are available for sale on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

3 thoughts on “FISHERMAN’S PATH 3 – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

Leave a Reply

