DISTANT MEMORIES OF RIP SCOURED BEACHES 2 – ACRYLIC PAINTING

P1020480(1)

Some time ago I posted a version of this painting: see below. It has stood in my studio ever since  and I have viewed it on a daily basis. The other day I felt that it lacked structure and tonal contrast, so I took a photo of it, printed a few copies,  got the pastels out and played around.  I am a lot more excited by the second version. Also with the weight of tone at one end I also decided to turn it the other way up.

P1160467(2)a

Other paintings are available for sale on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

 

5 thoughts on “DISTANT MEMORIES OF RIP SCOURED BEACHES 2 – ACRYLIC PAINTING

    • Thanks, but I thought that the first version lacked substance even though I had put some texture in it – just wasn’t enough. I don’t mind ethereal but I think it needs to be simpler and subtler than this – this was in no man’s land and needed pulling back, shaking up and given a sense of purpose. Next patient!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

