THE WOOD ON DELPH LANE – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

P1020500(1)Some time ago I reported, after painting the plein air Downholland Farm I posted, that I had left my portable palette behind. When I came back to search for it I came in my car and had to park on some waste land and the easiest  way was to cut through this small copse. I loved the evening light coming in through the trees and the branches and trunks cutting across the scene  making an almost stained glass effect. When I came out of hospital last week I thought that I could do this in pastel and sat down and cracked on and produced this pastel below:

P1020498(1)a

I thought that the pastel would allow me to get the criss-crossing branches easier and also allow me to work up the foliage catching the light in the shadows. I was unhappy with the results and decided to have another go in watercolour. I tried a  splattering approach  with the foliage on the watercolour and got some wonderful textures, but had to go over a lot of it in order to get the tonal contrast I was after. In the end the result was better but still it lacked the impact that I was after.

Other landscapes are available on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

9 thoughts on “THE WOOD ON DELPH LANE – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

  1. Both pieces are gorgeous! But there’s something about the water colour one. It seems so much brighter! I like to paint with water colour sometimes and I want to start posting but I’m not that good ahaha. I hope to one day get at-least half as good as you are. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks. You’ve already posted one, so keep on doing it. There’s plenty of mine that I’ve ripped up after posting, just get them up and don’t be precious. It’s always good to see your work in a different context, as it makes you look at it afresh and you learn a little more from it. Best of luck.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

