THE SPEED OF STEEL – ACRYLIC PAINTING

P1020566(1)a         I was playing around looking at creating surfaces in abstract ways using tone and colour temperature, but drifted off when things didn’t go as planned and playing around came up with this. As it was quite small and on paper I thought about trying it on a 50x70cm canvas.

I liked the juxtaposition of the organic/formless aspects and the hard defined shapes which I then played around with, breaking up edges and working into. The canvas version is below and I think that it has some merits, although I couldn’t get the mixing I got on the paper – the weave of the canvas preventing it. What I could do is coat the canvas with gesso and sand down. I have found seven applications and sanding gets a flawless surface which might emulate paper and allow me to get the effects I got on the paper. Or I could just go with paper, but then I would need to think about the kind of support I would need.

I will be pondering on this. Meanwhile, other abstract paintings are available for sale on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

P1020572(1)a

2 thoughts on “THE SPEED OF STEEL – ACRYLIC PAINTING

  1. Thanks Eduardo, I do like that marbling effect with colours flowing into one another as well as some of the forms which are echoed in less substantial ways. I’m still looking at the big one in my studio and considering reworking it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

