EARLY MORNING IN VENICE – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

P1140805(1)

I got messed around recently by someone who wanted some paintings of Venice . In the end it came to nothing, but I discovered this amongst my photos and I thought I’d use it to try a Nita Engle approach on architecture. Unfortunately I tightened up on the building details, but I do like the dark, dank canals opening up into the light. Might have another go and try and kill the detail.

Other paintings for sale are on my website grahammcquadefineart.com

6 thoughts on “EARLY MORNING IN VENICE – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

    • Thanks. I wanted to apply the Nita Engle approach to a townscape and selected this. The colours were applied in one go and mixed on the paper which gave some subtle transitions. Then I needed to get some structure and the whole thing tightened up and I had to do a lot more work on the buildings so it didn’t paint itself as Engle promotes.
      So I suppose my feeling is mainly one of disappointment and perhaps try again on something else.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

