MORE PLEIN AIR – WATERCOLOUR SKETCHES

At the risk of testing your tolerance, here are further sketches from the weekend. In this session I returned to an old haunt of last year – the Rufford Branch canal; a short stretch of canal off the main Leeds to Liverpool canal. It is a quiet, out of the way, place.

I loved this rickety bridge which crossed a ditch close to the canal.

And here is the canal – a quiet little backwater. A swing bridge allowed for a vantage point to view up and down the canal. It also saved me the usual task of hunting for my brushes in long grass.

Finally, a road-side cottage, viewed from the canal. I liked the light highlighting part of the roof (yep, life in the fast lane) and the orange from dried vegetation in the part-ploughed field added extra colour.

But most of all it was the pleasure of sitting in the early morning sunshine, just observing the surroundings and listening to birdsong.

More landscape paintings are available for sale on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

4 thoughts on “MORE PLEIN AIR – WATERCOLOUR SKETCHES

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.