RAGGED REMNANTS OF A RAINY DAY – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING.

I love landscapes where sun light picks out isolated parcels of detail.

It is an amalgam of a couple of photos to which I added an ambiguous skyline to deepen the mystery.

For me, the trickiest part was the dark mass of clouds on the right. I mixed colours on the paper and reduced the tone towards the left. Then I blended clouds into the land on the right, reserving areas of light on the left and middle. In hindsight, to get a smoother area of dark, I might have been better going in with a single wash in the sky area and then dabbed out to get the the highlights. Despite that, I like the simplicity of it.

Nearly as difficult as predicting the weather.

Other landscapes are available for sale on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.