BESIDE THE RUFFORD CANAL – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

Here is a worked up painting from a sketch I recently posted. When describing the sketch I said it was a bit twee and so it is, but the magnificent willow tree catching the morning light is worth capturing. The tree’s form is echoed by the white flowers of yarrow in the foreground which help break up the mass of green on display.

As I sat and painted on the canal bank one of the swans came close to me. As they had cygnets I thought it was being defensive at first, but then realised that it was just after food. I had nothing, except cadmium yellow and I dont think that would do them much good.

Another small jewel on this short stretch of canal near Burscough in Lancashire.

Other canal scenes are available on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

2 thoughts on “BESIDE THE RUFFORD CANAL – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.