CANAL-SIDE BREAKFAST – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

My journey along the Rufford Canal continues and I was there yesterday – but more of that in a later blog. This was a scene I saw a few weeks ago. It sums up the remoteness of the place and the sun coming up over the trees added to the misty atmosphere.

Tall grasses and reeds poking out into the still water hopefully draw you in. In the field on the opposite bank were strange dark masses. I thought that they were livestock but they seemed to be deposits of soil. Anyway, they gave me the idea of slipping a few cows in and creating a narrative for the scene.

I had to resort to a bit of gouache to complete the grassy area, but I elected for that approach, with some scratching out, rather than masking fluid.

A typical British rural scene.

Other canal scenes and landscapes are available for sale on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

10 thoughts on “CANAL-SIDE BREAKFAST – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

    • Thanks CB. The water is fairly straightforward. I was really unsure about the the grassess/reeds. I went in with a strong yellow green and a blue/black and got them to merge on the paper to give soft edges. Once dry i started with the texture; taking out in the dark areas and adding in the light areas. In fhe end I had to apply gouache to add more complexity, but I was pleased with the outcome. The soft edged underpainting really gives it some punch.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.