EVENING PAUSE – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

I thought I’d have a play around with watercolours, using some of the scenes from my holiday as a subject. Some have impact, some perhaps dont. The one above is a compilation of three photos and, apart from not getting a redder light and not getting the sky colour as deep as I would have wished, I am quite happy with the outcome. Working quickly wet in wet, colours can move and you are in the lap of the gods.

I was happy with this until I got to the reflections and foreground. The distant trees are done wet in wet to try and get that morning misty feeling and I was pleased with the outcome. Success then went to my head and I ended up with a rather messy foreground – not helped by working from four photographs. Perhaps I just want a boatmen paddling away from the viewer and a lower waterline so the reflections come further forward.

You may be seeing this again.

Other boat and canal scenes are available for sale on my website: grahammcquadefineart.com

7 thoughts on “EVENING PAUSE – WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.